What ARE you going to do about it?


So, there’s this goofy image of the president floating around.

Arrogant Obama

It’s clearly intended to show him looking arrogant, and the last time I saw it, it was accompanied by the caption, “Not Progressive enough for ya? Well… whadya gonna do about it??”

So, I think this is a grand question.  What are you going to do about it?  What am I going to do about it?  Here’s what I am going to do about it.

First, I am not going to vote for the same stupid false dichotomy that we the people have been supporting for years now. The two parties merged years ago. As my father so often says, we get the government we deserve.  This is a very sad, but all too true statement.  It’s not a matter of “throw the bums out” just because they’re in. It’s a matter of throw the bums out if they’re bums. In this case, show me the ones that aren’t bums, and I’ll support them. So far, Barney’s retiring (I can’t vote for him, anyway), Kucinich is in trouble due to redistricting (I can’t vote for him either), Elizabeth Warren is sporadic (Nope, couldn’t vote for her either) and, as far as I can tell, pretty much the rest are spineless or evil.

The best choice I’ve seen this election cycle for president is still Rocky Anderson.  And, most people still don’t even know about him. The Green Party is a joke and has been since putting Nader out as their candidate with 7 VP candidates depending on which state he was running in (1996).  For me, it was made even worse when the self-described “pretty much the head of the Greens in Florida” wanted to argue with me while at Occupy Tampa about whether that had even happened, she showed that many of the Greens don’t have any more of a clue than the damn Tea Partiers.  (Note to political organizers: If you’re at a political demonstration, protest or other activity, there is at least a chance you might encounter someone who actually has a clue, so you should not be clueless yourself.)  Now, this isn’t to say that the Green Party doesn’t hold many positions that I do support.  It isn’t to say that there are not many important issues that need to be accomplished on these fronts.  Only that as an organization, they are not to be taken seriously.

Voting third party is throwing your vote away? No! Voting Repugnocrat or Demoncan is throwing your vote away. From the time I was 18 until Shrub, I didn’t vote Democan.  I was told I should repeatedly because I should be afraid of the Republicrats, and truthfully, I was afraid of them and what they were doing to the country.  I was afraid of what they would continue to do to the country.  However, at that point I believed, and still believe, that the Libertarian Party was actually the most liberal party we had.  In the time since though, the Libertarians have become the refuge of the ultra-right wing and those who haven’t woken up enough to actually look at who has climbed into bed with them.

Then, along came Shrub.  Shrub scared me enough that I did vote Democan in the presidential preference poll.  Twice.  And, those are the only votes I regret.  The only two votes I feel I threw away.

Never again.  Lesson learned.  My father taught me too well to repeat those mistakes a third time.

I stumbled onto another image.  (I would credit if possible, but as with so many images one finds shared on social networking sites, there is no attribution).  I share it here because it is wonderful.

Did you get that?  It’s important.  Read it again.

When the mob and the press and the whole world tell you to move, your job is to plant yourself like a tree beside the river of truth and tell the whole world, “No, you move!”

Second, I am going to do all that I can to continue to educate everyone around me.  I will do so in person and online.  I will do so via this blog and via my social networking.  I am going to engage in every form of relevant protest that I can, while still maintaining my level of responsible engagement in society. I am going to be actively involved in calling, emailing, and petitioning my so-called representatives until we can replace them.  I will fully exercise my constitutional rights for as long as we have them, for that is how we make it difficult for them to be taken away.  If they are taken away, then I will engage in more radical action and abandon these responsible measures.

And, in the meantime, I’m going to do the very best I can to live by the principles I believe in in every way that I can.

So, yeah. That is what I am going to do about it. What are YOU going to do about it?

About Just Torch

Author of the SCIAMAGE column a space devoted to American political and social commentary and analysis. It is unabashedly liberal, but makes every effort to present clear, verifiable facts and sound reasoning. It also makes a commitment to clearly distinguish between facts and opinions. View all posts by Just Torch

6 responses to “What ARE you going to do about it?

  • Shawn

    I haven’t heard much about Rocky Anderson. I’ll read more about him

  • kitchenmudge

    There is nothing wrong with the Green organization that an influx of new members couldn’t cure. You’re making a self-fulfilling prophesy that I’ve tried to treat here:
    http://kitchenmudge.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/chickens-and-eggs/

    Very inefficient for Rocky not to run for the Green nomination, where ballot access is already secured in 20-30 states, rather than strike out on his own.

    • Just Torch

      I’m not sure what self-fulfilling prophesy you think I am making. I am saying that the Greens have proven as recently as October of 2011 in my home town to be a joke political organization that cannot be taken seriously. No amount of new blood is going to change that, short of changing the entire party. At which point, we might was well have started all over, which is, in fact, what Rocky is doing.

      I do appreciate you reading, and I hope you will continue to do so!

      • kitchenmudge

        I thought my “chickens and eggs” thing made the self-fulfilling prophesy pretty obvious. If your local chapter is as bad as you say, and you’re any kind of an organizer, it wouldn’t be hard for you to supplant it. That people don’t bother to do that is the self-fulfilling prophesy.

        • Just Torch

          Sorry, no. You were not as clear as you thought. As I said, I think the Green party is a lost cause. The amount of organizing and rejuvenation required to bring it back would be better directed to starting anew. However, I never claimed to be an organizer.

          And, my distaste for the Green party is nationwide after the Nader debacle I described as well. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

